The Society has a number of long-standing committees that assist the Executive and Directors to get alot of work done on a day to day basis. Furthermore, the Directors will often create committees on an ad hoc basis for current issues that need to be studied and resolved. For more information about a committee, please contact that Committee’s Chairperson by email by clicking on their name.


Chair – Allen Mendelsohn
The Communications Committee is responsible for all internal and external communications of the Society. This includes the preparation of our newsletters and distribution of all internal communications via email. As the public face of the Society, we are also responsible for press relations and communications with all other societies and organizations. The Committee also acts as webmaster for the website. The Committee consists of Allen Mendelsohn and Dorith Toledano, as well as several at-large members who assist from time to time.

Chair – Robin Schiller
Please see the Careers Section for more information.

Chair – Hershie Frankel

Chairs – Matthew Shadley and Gary S. Rosen

Chair – David Ettedgui
The Programme Committee is responsible for putting together the Society’s renowned annual dinner meetings, which attract prominent guest speakers on issues of topical and cultural interest.  The six dinner meetings, which are traditionally held between September and June at the Society’s “home”, the Montefiore Club, are widely attended by members of the legal community, the judiciary, the heads of the Montréal and Québec Bars, the President of the Chamber of Notaries and other invited guests.  Of the six annual meetings, three are devoted to specific subjects: the Alan B. Gold Advocacy Lecture (the art of advocacy), the Henry Steinberg Memorial Lecture (ethics and/or jewish content) and the Human Rights Lecture (human rights issues), while a fourth is devoted to a topic of particular interest to students and stagiaires.  The Committee is chaired by Nancy Cleman and includes the Society’s current President, its immediate past President and several other members of the Executive and Directors of the Society.

Young Bar 
Chairs – Marissa Lydynia and Andrew Kliger